Themed Sessions (in alphabetical order)
Click each session title for more details.

Session Title: (em)Powering Communities: the path to forging a new energy landscape?

Session Convenor: Eimear Heaslip, National University of Ireland, Galway

Email: eimear.heaslip@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Academic Freedom and Researcher Mobility: Risks and Opportunities in International Field Research

Session Convenors: Giselle Eugenia Connell (Durham University); Stefan Rzedzian (Newcastle University)

Email: gisele.e.o'connell@durham.ac.uk

Session Title: Agriculture and Climate Change

Session Convenor: Sinead Mellett, National University of Ireland Galway

Email: sinead.mellett@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Approaches to European Rural Development: Looking Towards 2021

Session Convenors: Aisling Murtagh, Maura Farrell, Shane Conway, Marie Mahon, John McDonagh, NUI Galway

Email: aisling.murtagh@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Art & Geography: Art, Activism and Social Engagement in the Age of the Capitalocene

Session Convenors: Karen E. Till, Nessa Cronin, Geography, Maynooth University; Irish Studies, NUI Galway

Email: karen.till@nuim.ie

Session Title: Art & Geography 2: Places and spaces of refuge

Session Convenor: Nessa Cronin (NUI Galway), Karen Till (Maynooth University) and Gerry Kearns (Maynooth University)

Email: gerry.kearns@mu.ie

Session Title: Authoring city futures: the role of International Accolade

Session Convenors: Patrick Collins, Annmarie Ryan, NUI Galway; University of Limerick 

Email: p.collins@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Borders of populism in the European Union

Session Convenors: Anna Casaglia, Raffaella Coletti, University of Eastern Finland, Karelian Institute; Sapienza University of Rome, Dept. Memotef

Email: raffaella.coletti@uniroma1.it

Session Title: BREXIT and human mobility: European scenarios

Session Convenors: Josefina Domínguez-Mujica and Barbara Staniscia; International Geographical Commission

Email: josefina.dominguezmujica@ulpgc.es

Session Title; Building coastal resilience for current and future climates

Session Convenors: Eugene Farrell, Kevin Lynch, NUI Galway

Email: eugene.farrell@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: The changing dynamics of rural territories

Session Convenor: Breandán Ó Caoimh, The GESERA Institute for Action Research

Email: BrendanOK7@gmail.com

Session Title: Communicating Research in Geography Panel

Session Convenor: Sasha Brown, Geographical Society Ireland Postgraduate and Early Career Network

Email: sasha.brown@mu.ie

Session Title: The “contemporary student”: researching the future of student landscapes

Session Convenor : Alexis Alamel, Université du Littoral Côte Opale (France)

Email: alexis.alamel@univ-littoral.fr

Session Title: Creative and smart cities in Europe

Session Convenor: Tamás Egedy, Geographical Institute of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Email: egedy@gmx.net

Session Title: Creative Geographic Practices in Contemporary Ireland

Session Convenors: Maedhbh Nic Lochlainn, Eoin O'Mahony, Trinity College Dublin; University College Dublin

Email: niclochg@tcd.ie

Session Title: A critical perspective on place-based spatial development strategies in both rural and urban areas. A “Landscape Grabbing?”  (With the IGU Commission Sustainability of Rural Systems).

Session Convenor: Margherita Ciervo, Jose Ignacio Vila Vazquez, Isabelle Dumont, University of Foggia; LabEx DynamiTe - CNRS UMR Géographie-cités; University of Rome Tre

Email: margherita.ciervo@unifg.it

Session Title: Cultural Transformations of Mountain Landscapes

Session Convenor: Zdeněk Kučera, Dana Fialová, Charles University, Faculty of Science, Prague, Czechia

Email: zdenek.kucera@natur.cuni.cz

Session Title: De-centring Infrastructures

Session Convenors: Jim White, Patrick Bresnihan, Arielle Hesse, Trinity College Dublin

Email: jmerrick@tcd.ie

Session Title: The Demands of being 'Smart'

Session Convenors: Aoife Delaney, Caspar Menkman, Maynooth University

Email: aoife.delaney@mu.ie

Session Title: Disability in rural areas: between geographic exclusion and social insertion

Session Convenors : Mauricette Fournier and Meddy Escuriet, UMR Territoires, Clermont-Auvergne University (France)

Email: Mauricette.Fournier@uca.fr

Session Title: The end of endism? The Revival of the Nation State in Global Geopolitics

Session Convenors: Elena Dell'Agnese, Virginie Mamadouh, Università di Milano-Bicocca / Universiteit van Amsterdam 

Email: v.d.mamadouh@uva.nl

Session Title: Enlightening Generational Renewal in Agriculture Policy: A Roadmap for CAP Post-2020

Session Convenors: Shane Conway, Maura Farrell, Aisling Murtagh, John McDonagh, Marie Mahon, NUI Galway

Email: shane.conway@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: EUROPE: A CONTINENT-SCAPE

Session Convenors : Nicolas Canova; Hugo Capellà-Miternique (contact person); Antoine Le Blanc; Louis Dupont, Ecole d’architecture de Lille/FR; Universitat Illes Balears/SP; Université du littoral Côte Opale/FR; Sorbonne Université/Laboratoire ENeC/FR

Email: hugo.capella@uib.eu

Session Title: The ‘European City’ - Spatial Imaginaries and Everyday Realities

Session Convenors: Philip Lawton, Ulf Strohmayer, Trinity College Dublin and NUI Galway

Email: philip.lawton@tcd.ie

Session Title: European Pilgrimage: new departures and old routes

Session Convenor: Richard Scriven, National University of Ireland, Galway

Email: richard.scriven@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Exploring regional perspectives on spatially just futures

Session Convenors: Marie Mahon*, Mike Woods**, Maura Farrell*, John McDonagh*, Pat Collins*,*National University of Ireland Galway, **University of Wales Aberystwyth

Email: marie.mahon@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Food system transformation towards healthy sustainable diets

Session Convenor: Gary Goggins, National University of Ireland Galway

Email: gary.goggins@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: The future for peatlands in Europe: Re-imagining our relationship with peatlands.

Session Convenors: John Connolly, Alexandra Barthelmes, Dublin City University, Ireland; Greifswald University, Germany

Email: John.b.connolly@dcu.ie / alex.barthelmes@greifswaldmoor.de

Session Title: Future Proofing Rural Communities: The Importance of Educating Rural Youth

Session Convenors: Sinéad Flannery, Dr Tomás Russell, Dr Karen Keaveney, University College Dublin

Email: sinead.flannery@ucdconnect.ie

Session Title: Geographies of Genocide, Ethnocide and International War Crimes

Session Convenor: Giselle E. Connell, Durham University

Email: gisele.e.o'connell@durham.ac.uk

Session Title: Geographies of Repair: examining the emergence and interconnectedness of repair and maintenance practices.

Session Convenors: Alma Clavin, Teresa Dillon, Christoph Woiwode, Bath Spa University; University of the West of England; Bath Spa University

Email: a.clavin@bathspa.ac.uk

Session Title: Geography in Higher Education: the Role of Geography Teaching in Shaping Europe’s Future Society and Landscapes (a joint paper session of EUGEO-EUROGEO-IGU)

Session Convenor: Joos Droogleever Fortuijn, Department of Geography, Planning and International Development Studies University of Amsterdam

Email: j.c.droogleeverfortuijn@uva.nl

Session Title: Geopolitical Dimensions of Population: Demographic Revolution as a Challenge in the XXI Century

Session Convenor: Alfonso Giordano, and Danica Šantić, Niccolò Cusano University – Rome, University of Belgrade

Email: alfonso.giordano@unicusano.it

Session Title: Highly skilled migration, women and time geography, beyond mere human capital resource

Session Convenors: Camilla Spadavecchia and Ana María González Ramos, 

(C.Spadavecchia) Tilburg University and (A.M.G. Ramos) IN3 -Universidad Abierta de Cataluña

Email: C.Spadavecchia@uvt.nl

Session Title: Historical Climatology

Session Convenor: Conor Murphy, Maynooth University

Email: conor.murphy@mu.ie

Session Title: Homelessness and Rooflessness: examining the trends, trajectories and challenges of service provision

Session Convenors: Joanne Ahern, Holly  Morrin, Pathie Maphosa, Sarah O'Gorman, Dublin Regional Homeless Executive

Email: joanne.ahern@dublincity.ie

Session Title: Housing, Globalization and Right to the City

Session Convenor : Charlotte Casier, Hugo Périlleux Sanchez, Christian Vandermotten, Université Libre de Bruxelles

Email: hugo.perilleux@ulb.ac.be

Session Title: How to measure disinformation? A call for Geography to tackle “fake news”.  Misinformation, disinformation, and online tactics of knowledge manipulation: methods and tools to tackle them - how Geography can help.   

Session Convenors: Simona De Rosa, Venere Stefania Sanna, Noemi Trino, T6 Ecosystems; Sapienza University of Rome, Dep. of Methods and Model for Economics, Territory and Finance (MEMOTEF); LUISS University, Department of Political Science

Email: s.derosa@t-6.it

Session Title: Hydrology and Society

Session Convenor: Conor Murphy, Maynooth University

Email: conor.murphy@mu.ie

Session Title: INTERNATIONAL CIRCULAR MOBILITIES

Session Convenor: Illés Sándor, Active Society Foundation

Email: dr.illes.sandor@gmail.com

Session Title: International Residential Mobilities. New perspectives 

Session Convenors: Josefina Domínguez-Mujica and Barbara Staniscia; International Geographical Commission

Email: josefina.dominguezmujica@ulpgc.es

Session Title: Irish Geography: Biographical reflections 

Session Convenors: Niamh Moore-Cherry; Mary Gilmartin; Rob Kitchin and Mary Bourke, University College Dublin; Maynooth University and Trinity College Dublin.

Email: niamh.moore@ucd.ie

Session Title: Lightning Talk - Snapshots in geographical research

Session Convenor: Caspar Menkman, GSI Postgrad and Early Career Network

Email: caspar.menkman@mu.ie

Session Title: Marginality within the European context seen through geographical lenses

Session Convenors: Steve Déry, Stanko Pelc (contact person); Fatima Velez de Castro, Walter Leimgruber, Université Laval, Québec; University of Primorska/SI; Universidade de Combria/P; University of Fribourg/CH

Email: stanko.pelc@pef.upr.si

Session Title: Marine Spatial Planning

Session Convenor: Liam Carr, NUI Galway

Email: liam.m.carr@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Migration, Mobility and Belonging

Session Convenor: Valerie Ledwith, National University of Ireland, Galway

Email: valerie.ledwith@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Neighborhood as a geographical and political concept: the European experience 

Session Convenor: Vladimir Kolosov, Institute of Geography of Russian Academy of Sciences

Email: kolosov@igras.ru 

Session Title: The Open Data and Research Landscape in Ireland and Beyond

Session Convenors: Oliver Dawkins, Eoin O'Mahony, Sam Stehle, Burcin Yazgi Walsh, (Dawkins, Stehle, Yazgi Walsh) NCG - Maynooth University; (O'Mahony) University College Dublin

Email: burcin.yazgiwalsh@mu.ie

Session Title: Palaeoenvironmental Change

Session Convenors: Karen Taylor, Karen Molloy, National University of Ireland Galway

Email: karen.jantaylor2@gmail.comKaren.molloy@nuigalway.ie

Session Title: Peopling urban pasts: examining everyday lives and landscapes

Session Convenors: Arlene Crampsie, Ruth McManus, UCD; DCU

Email: Ruth.McManus@dcu.ie

Session Title: Periurban landscapes: challenges for better living in [Alpine] metropolitan areas

Session Convenors: Emmanuel Roux, Stephan Pauleit, Martina van Lierop, Aurore Meyfroidt, University Grenoble Alps, Technical University Munich

Email: aurore.meyfroidt@umrpacte.fr

Session Title: Place/territorial identity representations: discourses, images, practices

Session Convenors: Tiziana Banini and Oana-Ramona Ilovan, Sapienza University of Rome (Italy), Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca (Romania)

Email: tiziana.banini@uniroma1.it;ilovanoana@yahoo.com

Session Title: POSTER COMPETITION  Geographical Society of Ireland Postgraduate & Early Career Network Poster Competition  EUGEO Congress and Conference of Irish Geographers, 15-19th May, 2019, NUI Galway, Ireland

Session Convenors: Geographical Society of Ireland Postgraduate and Early Career Network

Geographical Society of Ireland - Postgraduate and Early Career Network

Email: PECN@geographicalsocietyireland.ie

Session Title: The practice of rural development in Europe: actors, networks, projects, measures, programmes and policies. Facing rural problematics

Session Convenors: Marilena Labianca (University of Salento, Italy); Francisco Navarro (University of Granada, Spain); Eugenio Cejudo (University of Granada, Spain); Angelo Belliggiano (University of Molise, Italy); Stefano De Rubertis (University of Salento, Italy)

Email: Contacts: labiancamarilena@libero.it,favalver@ugr.es,cejudo@ugr.es,angelo.belliggiano@gmail.com,stefano.derubertis@unisalento.it

Session Title: Qualitative Inquiry in Geography of Religion

Session Convenor: Gustav Novotny, J. E. Purkyne University in Usti nad Labem

Email: Gustav.Novotny@ujep.cz

Session Title: Re-Imagining Places and Landscapes through Walking Practices and Methodologies

Session Convenors: Andrew McClelland (Heseltine Institute,University of Liverpool); Georgina Perryman (Department of Geography, Maynooth University); Joseph Robinson (Department of Geography, Maynooth University)

Email: georgina.perryman.2018@mumail.ie  

Session Title: Relationship between China and Europe: recent trends from economic and political geographic point of view

Session Convenor: Anton Bendarzsevszkij, Pallas Athene Innovation and Geopolitical Foundation

Email: gere.laszlo@paigeobudapest.hu

Session Title: Repealing the Eighth

Session Convenors: Karen Till, Gerry Kearns, Claire McGing; Maynooth University

Email: gerry.kearns@mu.ie   

Session Title: Small islands’ tourism: socio-environmental challenges and conflicts

Session Convenor: Stefano Malatesta, Elena dell'Agnese, Università degli Studi di Milano, Bicocca (ITALY)

Email: stefano.malatesta@unimib.it

Session Title: Strategic PhDing: All the things you wish you knew when you started your PhD journey

Session Convenor: Louise Sarsfield Collins, GSI Postgraduate and Early Career Network and Maynooth University

Email: louise.sarsfieldcollins@mu.ie

Session Title: Teaching Europe and for Europe. Strategies for a geographical education in critical times.

Session Convenors: Dino Gavinelli, Matteo Puttilli, University of Milan; University of Florence. 

Email: matteo.puttilli@unifi.it

Session Title: Wind energy – bringing the uncertainties into focus

Session Convenor: Cristian Suteanu and Adel Merabet, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, Canada

Email: cristian.suteanu@smu.ca

Session Title: Women in Geography

Session Convenors: Supporting Women in Geography (SWIG)

Email contact: Aoife.delaney@mu.ie

Session Title: Youth Migration and Regions

Session Convenors: Krisjane Zaiga, Apsite-Berina Elina, McGarry Orla, University of Latvia, University of Limerick

Email: elina.apsite-berina@lu.lv